Farewell to Corsica I/II

“Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it.” – Mahatma Gandhi

During the following few days I went to Musée de Bastia, being originally established back more than a century ago. The Governors’ Palace was as magnificent as ever expected. While wandering around those great stone walls I inevitably ended learning some philosophical self-study.

recluse |ˈrekˌloōs; riˈkloōs; ˈrekˌloōz| noun –
a person who lives a solitary life and tends to avoid other people.

I sure can live with that definition, however, I don’t know if that is the most dominant feature of my person. I believe that it’s only one part on myself while others are being several. During a longer holiday, especially if not traveling, it is good time for some slow-down and self-examination. This time I was travelling, for a longer period already but obviously got philosophically inspired along realising the shear nullity of my existence. Inside this marvellous structure I, however, felt like losing myself in sanctuary. Fully escaped from the rushing world out there.

Being accurate and punctilious are strong values in my scale. Sometimes I wonder how did these features go out of the fashion so vaguely? When did it happen that being accurate was considered disadvantage and uselessly pedant? I find natural penchant to act and speak sincerely and in earnest, rather than in a joking or living in half-hearted manner. Disliking jibe still does not prevent myself falling into sarcasm and irony much too often, though. I sure get insulted quite easily, but only when some trusted person is to keep me as fool. I don’t practically give too much of attention to what unknown individuals think of my acts or presence.

For some of us, sounds, smells and different sensations caused strong reactions. It is believed that around 20 percent of humans are specifically sensitive people. Yet it is not diagnosed as a disease, but the nervous system feature. I’ve noted getting easily distressed and feeling strong compassion when I pick little child’s inconsolable cry. Steady or unsteady clanking noise, knocking or clicking makes nerves get to the surface quite easily. Background noise often prevents me from following the discussion on the phone. It may be the lousy mobile as well but having a slight tinnitus certainly does not help. I should have protected the hearing already far in my youth.

Having a short temper is very unfortunate but I have learned and will calm down quickly. I sometimes feel deepest remorse and the need for reconciliation. Still I don’t tend to worry too much. Trying to be perfect is unluckily incorrigible feature and can only be helped when realizing that it is most often to no purpose. Above all dream a lot. Positive, sunny and beautiful dreams. In that extent that I truly believe in sayings and lyrics like in the song “You only live twice”. Occasionally I would just wish to follow the guideline of Dr. Samuel Johnson: “He who makes a beast of himself gets rid of the pain of being a man.” I don’t think I could never be viciously unkind person, though.

As long I can recall I’ve been fond of beautiful objects. For example, it does not differ if a beautiful vase or a model steam engine is in question. This is inherited feature. My parents did always select pretty things around them. So I had a bit of practise already while growing up. The older I have grown the more I tend to pay attention to the subject but I sure agree that the beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Every now and then I realise that I find something fascinatingly beautiful even though most people do not agree at all. Practicality is one issue for certain but you know, I can go and buy an acid proof stainless steel fixed snap shackle just for the great looks of it. I could imagine doing that even without owing a boat to hook it. Silly me.

Sometimes I have dreamed of having a bright-colored shiny new surfboard just for hanging that on the wall or purchasing brand new long board for vestibule decoration. This is obviously nut crazy idea since I never even discovered ability of skating and the only skaters in my life actually were the kids of neighbourhood long time ago. But I was thinking not to skate at all. I thought just enjoying the great craftmanship and excellent beauty. It’s the inbuilt designer in me, I believe.

The same urge goes for music. I’ve listened all kind of music and artists but I have only had one true love. Since childhood I have loved piano music. Most likely due to my mother as she often used to play piano. At least every Christmas she would go thru all note books in-house. I find it a bit odd it was never discussed if I wanted or better yet needed to have piano lessons? Viewed from the distance I might have had genome for that. On top of this I have been told that my grandfather was locally famous of his talent with violin. It must have been something in his youth since I sadly never recall him playing anything.

The weather has been the crown of this whole trip. Especially on this evening it really seemed to be very promising. It was almost dark by the time I finally departed from The Governors’ Palace and entered the warm but especially dry evening in town of Bastia. It’s amazing what one is able to spot from clear night sky. Avoiding artificial light sources and seek good places for findings in the sky is essential. The first thing I’m usually able to spot is Ursa Major. Staring at the deep blue night sky often reminds me about Arthur C. Clarke, the creator of 2001: A Space Odyssey. He was the man to popularize Herman Potočnik’s idea of geosynchronous satellites. I think Clarke was an extraordinary science fiction author and futurist. Looking at the distant stars made me also ponder several other things. Like the current stage of space elevator and research for good enough carbon nanotubes. Then again, what if Lofstrom loop would be something far more easy to achieve?

This night I was able to spot three separate satellites cruising over the firmament within half an hour. The first was going towards north, second towards northeast and the last traveled towards southeast. All these had very similar velocity. For me, it takes some time to get the eyes readjusted in the darkness as I belong to the one-third of population with slight myopia. What I have noticed is that averted vision works great with satellites when trying to follow them on their trajectory. You can also detect motion better with your peripheral vision, since it is primarily rod vision. As a matter of fact, rod cells are almost entirely responsible for night vision.

While stargazing, like often, I waited for a falling star to appear. And then it finally did! Really good and several seconds long bright meteor flared over my head from northwest towards southeast. I actually do not know why is it that people wish upon falling stars. I guess I have learned this habit from my parents. They claimed that if you wish upon a falling star and keep the wish to yourself and do not tell anybody then it might turn out to be true. Well, I did and the results remain to be seen.

Maybe even before heading onboard the train from Bastia to Ponte-Leccia junction and all the way to Ajaccio.

This chapter is an example from yet unpublished volume
currently identified as "The Fast and Slow Rays"
by Yumatzuga (2011-2015).

Cheerio

Leave a Reply

