Diaphanous Pelican

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.
– Jacques-Yves Cousteau (1910-1997)

I stayed onboard over the night and woke up next morning along the pouring rain. During the morning tea and shortcake biscuits, I tried to scan those steel colored clouds rushing over the masthead. Also tried to get a grip of the situation by listening the boat radio. As I finally discovered that it was most likely going to rain still some time I then started tidying up the boat. I simply did let loud Ramones tunes out of the stereos and started performing the cleansing routines.

By the midday it had stopped raining. It was time to leave. After securing the boat I left her well tied for strict supervision of the Andersen family. Ned is pretty keen on bird watching and now his Bushnell Legend spotting scope will serve him to carry out the guarding task. Ned will have it stand mounted and pointed right on the yacht at his living room terrace, that by the way, opens one excellent scenery. I gathered the essential belongings to my backpack, unfolded my wonder Brommie ready for action and rode the last five kilometers up home into Kalavarda village. We own a small cabin with garden greenhouse on a fair 0.5-acre site. The modest backyard is pretty much like from some meadow landscape painting of Monet, though it all tends to dry out during the wonderfully long and hot summer months.

I have been lucky to have Claude Monet as one of my favorite landscape painters. The father of impressionism, with his numerous masterpieces, has been true source of inspiration during adulthood years. Monet is the creator of dozens of spectacular landscape paintings. Not all are my favorites but Alley near Pourville from year 1882 is. Indeed, some of the best enchant the mind so strongly, that sense of time begins to blur.

Many find them pretty satisfied while living without television. We dropped having such, since it is complete nonsense, over decades ago and have not missed that since. Instead, as an example, this painting with inviting view of lovely seashore, equipped with elegant framework hanging on the wall, is something worth staring at. Especially after having a few rum toddies on a midwinter’s freezing cold night shared with inspiring music. Such combination share comfort and fly anyone’s mind far away even from the most brutal rat race.

Like tonight, when after a day doing nothing, I studied a bit of the Panart HMS Victory’s 34 ft Lifeboat (1:16 Scale from Cornwall model boats) that I have started tinker with. It’s a model of the type that was carried aboard Admiral Lord Nelson’s flagship “Victory”. It was Victory’s largest (over 10 m) boat for multi-use purposes. It used to carry food, water and other supplies. She was also used as a crew transfer vessel for the men and their weapons. There are two major aspects in this model that fascinate me. At first it is the pure history of naval warfare, all the courageous but horrible battle and then the sheer beauty of something man-made. Wooden models, may they be boats or planes, always make my silly heart jump out of anticipation. Maybe that is something boyish that the evil world never succeeded to beat out. I have had the model under construction for six months already but seems to me that another half a year is still required. Well, who would really want to rush such a gorgeous opportunity?

During the evening it started to get a bit parky around our tiny cottage. Earlier during summer I had bought some truck loads of olive wood, that has been dried for one year. It burns nice hot and steady, but does actually generate very little smoke. Unfortunately the cost of wood, like everything else, has slowly climbed higher and I should expect prices to skyrocket during the cold spring. Had I only been clever enough in identifying this recession well in advance it then would have been possible to acquire some outdated olive grow for pile of good wood. What I have noticed is that now, as the heating bills tend to rise, many locals have turned back into their wood stoves to save gas, electricity or what ever they used to have.

After having the old Stanley wood burner hot I could not refuse making a delicious apple pie for the late night tea. While cooking the pie I searched pantry for any well matured, slightly sweet honey flavored, Wensleydale cheese. I would have rather used matured blue Stilton, though, if only I had one more piece in the freezer. The blue veins taste heavenly irresistible. There is an old saying “An apple pie without the cheese is like a kiss without the squeeze!”. That I find pretty much true.

I often enjoy a glass or two good wine. After a day practically doing nothing else but tidying the boat I opened a bottle of fine Zenato Amarone della Valpolicella Classico. The rich and thick flavor lingers on my lips as I read the short letter again. She is going to stay somewhere in the Languedoc-Roussillon for quite some more time. This was vaguely anticipated but still taking longer than really expected anyway, I think. Well, I would expect her to return by the time Mallow Skippers are in the air again. Until that I can have the privilege mastering the house and daily living. After a while my cloudy brains realize that an opportunity like this should not be missed! But instead of going around the house or empty beaches I should go and do a bit of traveling myself. I had good enough time before the boat repair is about to begin. Where should I navigate then? East (“no”) or west? South or north? Would I really want to feel below zero temperatures, snow and ice after all this time being safe? Guess not.

We have an old wooden cabinet in the corridor between living room and the kitchen. Among other it stores some of the remembrance we have kept over the years. I droop half asleep already while immersing deeper into the future travel dream. Funny how I sense the water bird looking crystal figure swing its throat pouch, wink me behind the glass door by saying “Assumere est periculosum.”

This chapter is an example from yet unpublished volume
currently identified as "The Fast and Slow Rays"
by Yumatzuga (2011, 2012).

Cheerio

Leave a Reply

